Actress Jaime Pressly’s LA home was burglarized last Friday night. According to TMZ, the robber(s) made off with over $30,000 worth of jewelry and her laptop. The intruder(s) entered into Pressly’s home by breaking a window. TMZ reports that Pressly’s security company never called the police, so they believe she didn’t have it turned on. Pressly, who is known for her roles as Joyce Turner on the NBC sitcom My Name is Earl and Denis in I Love You, Man, discovered the robbery when she returned from a night out.
Pressly is the latest victim in a string of robberies connected to celebrities living in the Hollywood Hills area. Kendall Jenner’s Hollywood Hills home was allegedly burglarized last Thursday but police are now investigating it as an inside job. However, singer Alanis Morissette had her LA home robbed of $2 million worth of jewelry, ‘Dog Whisperer Cesar Millan was robbed and Derek Fisher had five of his basketball rings stolen out of his LA home.
Law enforcement’s default opinion as to why there was a rise in crime was to link the robberies to the released non-violent California prisoners. Whatever the case is, they have a problem on their hands that they need to figure out.
California Penal Code 459 for burglary states:
“burglary is defined as entering any residential or commercial building or room with the intent to commit a felony or a theft once inside. One commits the crime of burglary merely by entering the structure with the requisite criminal intent, even if the intended felony or theft is never actually completed.”
California’s burglary law is divided into first-degree burglary and second-degree burglary. First-degree burglary is burglary of a residence. Second-degree burglary is burglary of any other type of structure (including stores and businesses). California’s first-degree residential burglary is a felony and punishable by up to six years in state prison.
According to California Penal Code 457, theft occurs when one unlawfully takes someone else’s property. When the property that is stolen is valued at over $950 then that person committed “grand theft.” In California grand theft is considered a wobbler law which means the prosecutor may charge the offense as either a misdemeanor or a felony. The decision to file charges for misdemeanor grand theft or felony grand theft is completely up to the prosecutor’s discretion.
Grand theft as a misdemeanor is punishable by up to one year in county jail. As a felony the offender faces felony probation as well as up to three years in county jail.